TWO POEMS FROM “THE CHILL TURNED WARM” AND A MUSIC VIDEO BY DONNIE TOWNSEND

My boyfriend Donnie Townsend read two poems in my book: THE CHILL TURNED WARM and he wrote a song called

LITTLE GIRL IN THE ORPHANAGE. Here are the two poems and the song.

THE PRISONER IN GRADE SCHOOL

She felt rejected, unloved, and unwanted.

She feels like she is being punished for something.

She wants her family back more than living.

The fantasy of her family being together again is her only happiness.

She cries and prays to her God a lot.

For three long years she clung to the fence.

While serving her time, her only crime was loneliness.

No one cared enough to parole her from the orphanage.

She feels the presence of the fence as an adult.

Her hands cling to the fence within.

Just like then no one hears her cries.

There is no key to the gate.

by Bonnie Gail Carter

THE CHILD INSIDE OF ME

The child inside of me wants to be free of the fence surrounding me.

The fence is so high I want to fly to my home in the sky

where I’ll be free of the emotional pain encompassing me.

There was no love at this place called an orphanage.

They didn’t care very much.

I was withdrawing within, building a wall to protect myself

from the emotional pain I’m going to set on a shelf.

I can dust it off and start with a clean slate.

Only time will tell what emotions are sunken deep in the well.

My heart feels like a black hole instead of having a soul,

searching for the warmth of the sun to lighten the load

leading to a better-traveled road.

by Bonnie Gail Carter

https://youtu.be/QosOHAUox7k click here to hear LITTLE GIRL IN THE ORPHANAGE by Donnie Townsend

Leave a Reply

