I Always Wanted To Know The Words To These Songs.

Public Domain Folk Songs

SWING LOW SWEET CHARIOT

Swing low, sweet chariot, coming for to carry me home
Swing low, sweet chariot, coming for to carry me home

I looked over Jordan and what did I see
Coming for to carry me home
A band of angels coming after me
Coming for to carry me home

Swing low, sweet chariot, coming for to carry me home
Swing low, sweet chariot, coming for to carry me home

If you get there before I do
Coming for to carry me home
Tell all my brothers I’m a coming there too
Coming for to carry me home

Swing low, sweet chariot, coming for to carry me home
Swing low, sweet chariot, coming for to carry me home

 

MICHAEL, ROW THE BOAT

Michael, row the boat ashore, Hallelujah,
Michael, row the boat ashore, Hallelujah.

Sister help to trim the sail, Hallelujah,
Sister help to trim the sail, Hallelujah.

Michael, row the boat ashore, Hallelujah,
Michael, row the boat ashore, Hallelujah.

The river Jordan is deep and wide, Hallelujah,

Can’t see across to the other side, Hallelujah.

Michael, row the boat ashore, Hallelujah,
Michael, row the boat ashore, Hallelujah.

The river Jordan is deep and wide, Hallelujah,
Milk and honey’s on the other side, Hallelujah.

Michael, row the boat ashore, Hallelujah,
Michael, row the boat ashore, Hallelujah.

 

Public Domain Folk Songs

BATTLE HYMN OF THE REPUBLIC

Mine eyes have seen the glory of the coming of the Lord
He is trampling in the vintage where the grapes of wrath are stored,
He has loosed the fateful lightening of His terrible swift sword
His truth goes marching on.

Glory! Glory! Hallelujah!
Glory! Glory! Hallelujah!
Glory! Glory! Hallelujah!
His truth goes marching on.

I have seen Him in the watch-fires of a hundred circling camps
They have builded Him an altar in the evening dews and damps
I can read His righteous sentence by the dim and flaring lamps
His day goes marching on.

Glory! Glory! Hallelujah!
Glory! Glory! Hallelujah!
Glory! Glory! Hallelujah!
His truth goes marching on.

I have read a fiery gospel writ in burnish`d rows of steel,
“As ye deal with my condemners, So with you my grace shall deal”;
Let the Hero, born of woman, crush the serpent with his heel
Since God goes marching on.

Glory! Glory! Hallelujah!
Glory! Glory! Hallelujah!
Glory! Glory! Hallelujah!
His truth goes marching on.

He has sounded from the trumpet that shall never call retreat
He is sifting out the hearts of men before His judgment-seat
Oh, be swift, my soul, to answer Him! be jubilant, my feet!
Our God goes marching on.

Glory! Glory! Hallelujah!
Glory! Glory! Hallelujah!
Glory! Glory! Hallelujah!
His truth goes marching on.

In the beauty of the lilies Christ was born across the sea,
With a glory in His bosom that transfigures you and me:
As He died to make men holy, let us die to make men free,
While God goes marching on.

Glory! Glory! Hallelujah!
Glory! Glory! Hallelujah!
Glory! Glory! Hallelujah!
His truth goes marching on.


ALL MY TRIALS, LORD

Hush little baby, don’t you cry
You know your mamma was born to die
All my trials, Lord, soon be over

The river of Jordan is muddy and cold

It chills the body, but not the soul

All my trials, Lord, soon be over

I’ve got a little book that was given to me
And every page spells liberty
All my trials, Lord, soon be over

Too late, my brothers
Too late, but never mind
All my trials, Lord, soon be over

If living were a thing that money could buy
The rich would live and the poor would die
All my trials, Lord, soon be over

There grows a tree in Paradise
And the pilgrims call it the Tree of Life
All my trials, Lord, soon be over

Too late, my brothers
Too late, but never mind
All my trials, Lord, soon be over

Leave a Reply

